Drinking and driving, my biggest mistake!

As I sit in this cold dirty cell, within in La county Twin towers jail, I wonder what it would feel like spending a year or more here, I think about the day I made that decision to get behind the wheel of my Navigator and drive, I ask myself what if I hit someone or even if they hit me and I died, or even worse what if they died?  I have a very strong mind and heart, but really to be able to live with the fact that I was the cause of someones death, I was actually the reason they had their last breath.  I just wouldn’t be able to live with myself.

It is crazy how everything in a persons life can change because of one mistake.  There are so many things I could have done to change my decision that night, I even told myself to turn around four or five times on my way out to Hollywood, but the alcohol consumed my mind I couldn’t think clearly, and by no means did I even think of all the possible consequences.

When we drink, we have no rational.  We do whatever sounds good at the moment, with no regard for any consequences.  That fact alone really scares me.  I have been so lucky way too many times.  Even though I  rarely ever drink and drive, it only takes one time to end your life or someone else s.  Is it really worth that chance?

Not only is the person guilty who makes that choice, but so are the passengers in the drunk drivers car, so are the friends that knew the driver had been drinking.  This is an all to common mistake that we all to often make.  We are all responsible.  Nine times out of Ten most people don’t say anything because they fear conflict.  Or they just don’t want to be the person that kills the parties buzz.  Seriously is that party worth seeing your friend drive off get arrested or even worse kill themselves or someone else?

I am not writing this to hate on drinkers or party peeps, we all like to have the occasional good time, but really how simple is it to be responsable and make safe arrangements before you go out?  If you can’t afford a safe ride, or find a DD you simply shouldn’t go out.  There isn’t a party in the world that is worth any of the consequences.  I am personally disgusted with some of my past decisions.

I think most of us young or old are to worried about being cool to stop people they know from driving drunk.  Seriously though are you really cool letting someone drive off and put innocent lives as well as their own in danger?  This is such a huge problem and it takes all of us to stand up and say something before it happens.  It’s not about trying to be a hero its just about be a great responsable  friend/family member/citizen.

I use to be one of the biggest par tiers, but I just think of all the stupid **** I have done.  I have to say WOW I can be a real due sch bag when I drink.  Drinking just isn’t worth it to me anymore.  I am not saying I am never going to take another sip, but being a responsible adult is everything in life and if you don’t have everything planned out, it is just stupid to Binge drink.  So many bad things can happen.

If you go out in a large group and party it is guaranteed that at least one person is going to have a bad night, it could be as simple as an argument between friends,puking,jail worst of all death.  Again I am not writing this to preach to anyone, but myself.  I have seen way to much when it comes to a party life style, and now that I am a few months away from being thirty, I just have to say no more immature nights getting belligerent and making a complete ass out of myself.  Been there and done that way too many times.  Don’t get me wrong I have had some great times, but by no means do they out way the worst times.  Getting  hammered just isn’t worth it to me anymore.

Bottom line I am extremely blessed to still be alive and so are 90% of the friends I have partied with.  I have seen us all at are worst and man do we do some stupid ****.  Back in the day I though it was cool and the thing to do, but there are so many other things to do in life then to just get wasted.  The only real reason we all love it so much is it’s a great excuse (Blame it on the Alcohol)  for all of us to act like fools, have fun and not care about what others think.  Truth is if you just have confidence in yourself it doesn’t matter.  You don’t need any excuses, you can just relax be yourself and have fun when your confident.

This was one of my first real missions.  Prove how stupid we can all be when we drink or use drugs.  The funniest thing about it is I was one of the hardest ones to actually prove it too, but I know it’s just stupid to act a fool when you drink.  There is nothing really cool about getting belligerently wasted.  You are a lot cooler when you can chill relax have one or two drinks and know when to put the can or bottle down.  There really is nothing cooler than being a responsable adult when it comes to drinking.

I know I am going to catch a lot of heat when it comes to this post, but it’s just the God’s honest truth.  I am always working to become a better man, and I could care less what anyone thinks about that.  I know who I am and what I am capable of, and true friends and family are always there no matter what, It’s just that time I climb that next mountain.

~ by loufanucchi on September 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
